CPU (and GPU) help

Help and Advice
User avatar
3vil-GoOfy
Clan Member
Posts: 918
Joined: 28 Nov 2005, 22:38
Location: Denmark

CPU (and GPU) help

Post by 3vil-GoOfy » 24 Aug 2012, 19:07

Hello

I really need a new processor for my desktop, but I don't know what I am looking for. How to choose a good and affordable CPU that's compatible with my current hardware?

On top of that, I want to invest in a new GPU also, but I am not in a hassle. What GPU do you use? Are you happy with your graphics for the current generation of gaming?

My specs:
http://ge.tt/9CfU5YM/v/0?c
Good one there, %i!
ImageImage

User avatar
leandros
SuperAdmin
Posts: 3157
Joined: 07 Dec 2005, 11:41
Location: Dutchelandae

Post by leandros » 25 Aug 2012, 01:54

Download CPU-Z and give us the socket type (package) and GPU socket type (mainboard->Graphic Interface->Version).
ImageImageImageImage
ImageImageImageImage
ImageImageImageImage

User avatar
teh ORiON
NO SWAG FGT
Posts: 392
Joined: 14 Aug 2010, 17:51
Location: Denmark, Copenhagen.

Post by teh ORiON » 25 Aug 2012, 15:04

It's probably ancient socket 939, so not worth it just upgrading the cpu.

User avatar
3vil-GoOfy
Clan Member
Posts: 918
Joined: 28 Nov 2005, 22:38
Location: Denmark

Post by 3vil-GoOfy » 25 Aug 2012, 17:53

Yep, the socket is 939 for my processor and PCI-Epress for my graphics
Good one there, %i!
ImageImage

User avatar
leandros
SuperAdmin
Posts: 3157
Joined: 07 Dec 2005, 11:41
Location: Dutchelandae

Post by leandros » 25 Aug 2012, 19:19

Son, that shit is 8 years old. Get a new PC.
ImageImageImageImage
ImageImageImageImage
ImageImageImageImage

User avatar
3vil-GoOfy
Clan Member
Posts: 918
Joined: 28 Nov 2005, 22:38
Location: Denmark

Post by 3vil-GoOfy » 25 Aug 2012, 19:49

I'm trying to, but I have absolutely no knowledge about that lol

I don't want to buy a premade pc, so if I have to buy a new motherboard so be it, but I want your help guys!
Good one there, %i!
ImageImage

User avatar
mccarf
Welsh
Posts: 1631
Joined: 25 Oct 2005, 03:01
Location: Wales

Post by mccarf » 25 Aug 2012, 21:13

whats your budget & what do you need it to run/do?

User avatar
3vil-GoOfy
Clan Member
Posts: 918
Joined: 28 Nov 2005, 22:38
Location: Denmark

Post by 3vil-GoOfy » 25 Aug 2012, 23:49

I don't really have any money right now, but I just got a full time job. I'll probably get like €1000 this month (started the job in the middle of the month) and a little more from my past job.

I don't plan on using all the money since I'm also moving to Copenhagen in January and have to use some of them. Just give me a killer price and if it's getting too expensive I can save up.

Primary use is video editing and gaming.
Good one there, %i!
ImageImage

User avatar
leandros
SuperAdmin
Posts: 3157
Joined: 07 Dec 2005, 11:41
Location: Dutchelandae

Post by leandros » 26 Aug 2012, 02:23

That means basically at least 8GB RAM, a good video card and a good CPU.
ImageImageImageImage
ImageImageImageImage
ImageImageImageImage

User avatar
mccarf
Welsh
Posts: 1631
Joined: 25 Oct 2005, 03:01
Location: Wales

Post by mccarf » 26 Aug 2012, 15:50

Image


This isn't a bad starting point. By which I mean I very quickly put this together and you could get some stuff cheaper which does the same job. For example the CPU cooler - the Corsair Hydro H80 - there are alot of air coolers which cool just as well or a little better, for less money.

Also I've made this system fairly upgradeable, ie when you feel the graphics could use a boost in the future you can just stick another 7950 card in without changing any other components.

User avatar
teh ORiON
NO SWAG FGT
Posts: 392
Joined: 14 Aug 2010, 17:51
Location: Denmark, Copenhagen.

Post by teh ORiON » 27 Aug 2012, 16:54

Shit goofy, you gonna have to sell your body for that

User avatar
SoDa
Clan Member
Posts: 573
Joined: 27 Aug 2006, 01:14
Location: Vending machine

Post by SoDa » 27 Aug 2012, 19:00

gooby pls

User avatar
3vil-GoOfy
Clan Member
Posts: 918
Joined: 28 Nov 2005, 22:38
Location: Denmark

Post by 3vil-GoOfy » 19 Sep 2012, 16:03

HOW IS THIS?

nvm. no internal shipping :(
Good one there, %i!
ImageImage

User avatar
Phospholipid
Clan Member
Posts: 305
Joined: 11 Apr 2009, 08:48
Location: Houston, TX, USA

Post by Phospholipid » 19 Sep 2012, 16:55

Holy shit 20 percent tax??? No wonder US is in debt they only charge 6-8 percent
pho

User avatar
Johnny_J
Clan Admin
Posts: 899
Joined: 11 Oct 2004, 11:17
Location: England

Post by Johnny_J » 19 Sep 2012, 18:45

18-22% is common in Europe, it's nearly always lower for things like food, books and transport. Sweden's VAT (or whatever they call theirs) is 25%.

Sales tax and VAT work differently, I'm sure we still pay a bit more but it's not as crazy as the percentage figure suggests.

Socialism innit.
Last edited by Johnny_J on 19 Sep 2012, 19:18, edited 3 times in total.
Image

User avatar
Radiance
Clan Member
Posts: 553
Joined: 20 May 2006, 11:24

Post by Radiance » 19 Sep 2012, 18:59

oh no! Socialism is an awful word in US. now phos might leave FM :(
As the others sat and played in the playroom the guy went into the sauna and shat there. The smell spread to those who played, it was a way of introducing himself the guy said.

User avatar
TranceKuja
Soldier
Posts: 685
Joined: 08 Sep 2005, 21:11
Location: Zhubei City, Taiwan
Contact:

Post by TranceKuja » 19 Sep 2012, 19:21

I love you Radiance

User avatar
teh ORiON
NO SWAG FGT
Posts: 392
Joined: 14 Aug 2010, 17:51
Location: Denmark, Copenhagen.

Post by teh ORiON » 19 Sep 2012, 19:39

It's a good thing the US doesn't have 'free' medicare, otherwise Breaking Bad would never have happened!

User avatar
Johnny_J
Clan Admin
Posts: 899
Joined: 11 Oct 2004, 11:17
Location: England

Post by Johnny_J » 19 Sep 2012, 19:45

It's not 'free', but universal healthcare is much nicer though yo. Change is hard.
Image

User avatar
mccarf
Welsh
Posts: 1631
Joined: 25 Oct 2005, 03:01
Location: Wales

Post by mccarf » 19 Sep 2012, 20:36

amazon.co.uk do international shipping provided your order is over £25ish. doubt you'd find alot of stuff much cheaper. the only things they wont ship overseas is the heavy stuff like the power supply+case iirc

User avatar
3vil-GoOfy
Clan Member
Posts: 918
Joined: 28 Nov 2005, 22:38
Location: Denmark

Post by 3vil-GoOfy » 25 Sep 2012, 22:33

Until I get enough money, does anyone know how to overclock the CPU?
Good one there, %i!
ImageImage

User avatar
Radiance
Clan Member
Posts: 553
Joined: 20 May 2006, 11:24

Post by Radiance » 25 Sep 2012, 22:40

gooby pls
As the others sat and played in the playroom the guy went into the sauna and shat there. The smell spread to those who played, it was a way of introducing himself the guy said.

craterboy
I love /d/
Posts: 1170
Joined: 11 Oct 2004, 16:13
Location: Nerdlands
Contact:

Post by craterboy » 26 Sep 2012, 00:13

bios
/10char
Image

User avatar
mccarf
Welsh
Posts: 1631
Joined: 25 Oct 2005, 03:01
Location: Wales

Post by mccarf » 26 Sep 2012, 07:23

if you have the default cpu heatsink that came with the cpu, don't overclock it. unless you want to make it massively unstable that is

User avatar
3vil-GoOfy
Clan Member
Posts: 918
Joined: 28 Nov 2005, 22:38
Location: Denmark

Post by 3vil-GoOfy » 03 Oct 2012, 23:19

Good one there, %i!
ImageImage

User avatar
teh ORiON
NO SWAG FGT
Posts: 392
Joined: 14 Aug 2010, 17:51
Location: Denmark, Copenhagen.

Post by teh ORiON » 04 Oct 2012, 01:33

Looks terrible :<.

User avatar
mccarf
Welsh
Posts: 1631
Joined: 25 Oct 2005, 03:01
Location: Wales

Post by mccarf » 04 Oct 2012, 01:37

both of them are terrible.

the graphics cards would struggle with p much everything as they're so low end. also amd isn't really making great processors atm, intel is the safer choice as far as processors go unless it's extremely low end, but then you're after a gaming pc, so that isn't the case.

You never set a solid budget in this thread which was why my spec was abit pricey. If you want to set a budget I'll make another spec for you to fit the budget.

User avatar
leandros
SuperAdmin
Posts: 3157
Joined: 07 Dec 2005, 11:41
Location: Dutchelandae

Post by leandros » 04 Oct 2012, 11:46

I love how pricey they are compared to how shit the specs sound.
ImageImageImageImage
ImageImageImageImage
ImageImageImageImage

User avatar
teh ORiON
NO SWAG FGT
Posts: 392
Joined: 14 Aug 2010, 17:51
Location: Denmark, Copenhagen.

Post by teh ORiON » 04 Oct 2012, 14:22

Yes, but they probably sound good to many!

Also goofy look in danish shops, you can't really win anything by buying abroad, only a pain in the ass should you need to RMA anything!

User avatar
3vil-GoOfy
Clan Member
Posts: 918
Joined: 28 Nov 2005, 22:38
Location: Denmark

Post by 3vil-GoOfy » 04 Oct 2012, 15:44

I told you that I wasn't very good at it.

carf help me get some specs on a lower budget. The mashine doesn't need to be this generation, so last and 2nd last would do (or rather have a game like BF3 run almost perfectly.
Good one there, %i!
ImageImage

User avatar
leandros
SuperAdmin
Posts: 3157
Joined: 07 Dec 2005, 11:41
Location: Dutchelandae

Post by leandros » 04 Oct 2012, 17:19

Give us a budget and your monitor res.
ImageImageImageImage
ImageImageImageImage
ImageImageImageImage

User avatar
3vil-GoOfy
Clan Member
Posts: 918
Joined: 28 Nov 2005, 22:38
Location: Denmark

Post by 3vil-GoOfy » 04 Oct 2012, 17:28

Maybe £500 more or less
My resolutions are 1680x1050 and 1280x1024 so it'd probably be best to have a videocard with two video outputs.
Good one there, %i!
ImageImage

User avatar
mccarf
Welsh
Posts: 1631
Joined: 25 Oct 2005, 03:01
Location: Wales

Post by mccarf » 11 Oct 2012, 10:56

hello! been busy so I had no timez to reply. anyways this is what I came up with, but as I am a terrible person I went over budget by £100. sorry :(.

Image

I think this is a decent setup and represents fantastic "bang for buck". If you wanted to get closer to the £500 mark, all you'd have to do is swap the processor out for an i3 retail version (which means it comes with a little shitty heatsink). However be aware that swapping to an i3 won't offer nearly as much bang for buck.

User avatar
3vil-GoOfy
Clan Member
Posts: 918
Joined: 28 Nov 2005, 22:38
Location: Denmark

Post by 3vil-GoOfy » 11 Oct 2012, 17:26

Lost in GW2? ;)

Good work! Last question.. Is there anything that I already have that I don't have to buy again? Like the Samsung DVD?
Good one there, %i!
ImageImage

User avatar
mccarf
Welsh
Posts: 1631
Joined: 25 Oct 2005, 03:01
Location: Wales

Post by mccarf » 11 Oct 2012, 18:29

The CD Rom is fine to keep if you have a SATA one already. Same with the HDD, provided it's SATA and fairly recent (because hard drives have progressed)

The case is fine to reuse provided it isn't terrible+can fit the graphics card+cooler. You will need a fan at the front and back so that air gets pushed+pulled through through the case to keep your components cool. If you don't plan on overclocking you can go for a "lesser" i5 retail edition. As above retail editions come with a shitty heatsink so you can eliminate some cost from the i5 and some cost from the custom heatsink.

I would recommend sticking with this i5+a custom cooler however, because you can easily get a decent overclock with this, making the "bang for buck" UNBELIEVABLEZZZZZZ.

User avatar
teh ORiON
NO SWAG FGT
Posts: 392
Joined: 14 Aug 2010, 17:51
Location: Denmark, Copenhagen.

Post by teh ORiON » 11 Oct 2012, 19:06

Essentially:

Image

User avatar
Radiance
Clan Member
Posts: 553
Joined: 20 May 2006, 11:24

Post by Radiance » 11 Oct 2012, 23:31

i like that setup mccarf. might even buy it myself! :D:D:D
As the others sat and played in the playroom the guy went into the sauna and shat there. The smell spread to those who played, it was a way of introducing himself the guy said.

User avatar
TranceKuja
Soldier
Posts: 685
Joined: 08 Sep 2005, 21:11
Location: Zhubei City, Taiwan
Contact:

Post by TranceKuja » 12 Oct 2012, 04:29

Look at all you rich kids buying your fancy gadgets.

User avatar
N.O.L.F.
Clan Member
Posts: 895
Joined: 02 May 2006, 16:30
Location: In your mothers bed

Post by N.O.L.F. » 12 Oct 2012, 12:21

better spend that money on some nice consumables radiance :wink: :wink:
-

User avatar
Radiance
Clan Member
Posts: 553
Joined: 20 May 2006, 11:24

Post by Radiance » 12 Oct 2012, 13:49

NO pls
As the others sat and played in the playroom the guy went into the sauna and shat there. The smell spread to those who played, it was a way of introducing himself the guy said.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests